DIY COW #109 – CURRENT   66 comments

Gazza has set the word CURRENT as this week’s challenge.

At the moment we have no way of knowing when the forum will be back online. My gut instinct is to say use the next few days to work out some clue ideas (i.e. don’t post them here yet) in readiness for ‘home’ re-opening, but if there’s no sign of that happening by, say, Tuesday evening start posting your clues here. I’ll go with consensus, though; if you feel it’s worthwhile submitting here from the off, please go ahead.

Posted April 30, 2011 by Anax in General Announcement

66 responses to “DIY COW #109 – CURRENT

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So – do we just dive in and post a clue?

    Draught? Return drunk after a hundred! (7)

  2. Which bit of “don’t post them here yet” didn’t you get?

    • Ah yes, Mr P, but I did add the proviso of consensus at the end of the post; if contributors want to submit clues right away it’s no problem to me.
      I only suggested hanging back because if there are a lot of clues here by the time the forum is working again it could be a pain to copy them all over.

  3. Seems to be Weds and the other site’s still down so:

    New recruit disoriented and lost a contemporary (7)

    ((N)ew RECRUIT)* – I
    contemporary= definition

  4. I maybe trendy (7)

    DD

    Trendy / I in Physics is used as the symbol for the current in a circuit measured in amps.

  5. Latest cure involves radiotherapy initially first of new treatment follows (7)

    Def – latest
    cure with ‘r’ involves radiotherapy initially,first of new treatment – ‘nt’ follows

  6. (i) Return, playing with child’s first present (7)

    Def = present
    RETURN = fodder
    With = to include C (child’s first)
    Playing = anagrind

    (ii) Return with child’s first broken present (7)

    As above but with ‘broken’ as the anagrind

    (iii) This account could generate small cash return (7)

    Def = this account
    Could generate = anagrind
    Small cash = C
    RETURN (+C) = fodder

    Been desperately trying to resist posting something about Rolls Royce engines initially being housed in something!

  7. 1) Dog-torn present (7)
    [Charade]

    2) What’s happening now is odd–not keeping promises to let (7)
    Definition = What’s happening now
    CUR (IOUS) RENT

  8. Old policemen return to rate course (7)

    Def: Course

    RUC< (old policemen) + RENT (rate).

  9. Up-to-date account?

    DD

  10. 1) I incur rental to hold it (7)

    I – Defn., Telescopic

    2) Not out, of course (7)

    DD

    3) One copper allowed without resistance (7)

    &-lit, CU {R} RENT, ref. to copper’s low resistance.

  11. Modern tart embraces topless bird (7)

    For a down clue:

    Def: Modern

    CUR{[W]REN}T

  12. From a demanding (and possibly unfair?!) drill sergeant:

    ‘About turn! About, about, about! Now!”

    Def.= Now
    C (about) + URNT* (about) containing (about) RE (about!)

  13. 3) Tide reversal on Laden’s end stopping terror or outster by unpatriotic extremists (7)
    Definition = Tide
    CU (RO) RRE [N] T <

  14. I take bearings, in short (7)

    R+E+N in CURT
    I=definition

    Eddy’s in (7)

    Double definition

    Trendy fruit, by the sound of it (7)

    Homophone of CURRANT

  15. Old city rector in tender mood (7)

    Def: Mood

    C{UR R}ENT

  16. Bishop’s prompt wrapping books for present (7)

    RR in CUE + NT

    Should be read as “Bishop has prompt wrapping…”

  17. (down clue)
    Short skirts on Jordan’s rear getting juice flowing (7)
    CURT around RE (on) + (jorda)N. Def is ‘juice flowing’

    Possibly Madras’ unfinished hospital department is in progress (7)
    possibly Madras unfinished – CURR(y)
    Hospital department = ENT
    in progress = def

    • Oops please ignore the comment (down clue), a hangover from when I was thinking about Jordan’s bottom rather than her rear.

  18. Charge : Caught demanding to get rid of king for good (7) C UR (-g)+R ENT

    Charge = def
    Caught = C
    Demanding = URGENT
    King (R) for Good (G)

  19. Up to the minute hospital department gets remedy with right treatment first (7)
    Def – ‘up to the minute’
    hospital dept – ‘ENT’
    Remedy with right = curre

    • please ignore this Gazza too many eeees!

      • Ammendment to above clue

        Up to the minute hospital department gets remedy with right treatment first, take note

        Def – up to the minute
        hopital dept – ENT
        remedy with right treatment = cure with r
        take note – remove one ‘e’

  20. Agitatedly run in court to gather about moving charges (7)

    C{RUN}*T gathers RE. Moving charges = CURRENT

  21. Prison torture …

    2. Con becomes cooperative receiving this? (-con)CURRENT

    Concurrent = cooperative

  22. Rather more Private Eye than Times:

    Vagina welcomes cock up, back in!(7)

    Def: In

    CU{ERR< (cock up back)}NT

    • I must say Prolixic that, after all the months you have been contributing to this site, with so many well-worked clues, you are the last person that I would expect to see ending a clue with an unnecessary exclamation mark.

  23. Hot air (7)

    Double definition – hot (as in hot topic) and air as in a darught

  24. Valid dog license (7)

    Word sum

  25. I(n) (7)
    I=current
    In=current/trendy/fashionable

  26. To get all the clues into one thread I’m copying those entered by axiom and STS in the previous thread into this one.

    axiom

    Return, playing with child’s first present (7)

    Def = present
    RETURN = fodder
    With = to include C(hild’s first)
    Playing = anagrind

    Return with child’s first broken present (7)

    As above but with ‘broken’ as the anagrind

    Trying hard not to post something about Rolls Royce engines initially being housed in something!

    S.T. Sahasrabudhe

    1) Dog-torn present (7)
    [Charade]

    2) What’s happening now is odd–not keeping promise to let (7)
    Definition = What’s happening now
    CUR (IOUS) RENT

    • Apologies – now that I’ve got a bit further down the list I see that axiom has already copied over his own clues.

  27. Trendy movement, AC/DC accepted! (7)

    A multiple definition

  28. In endless constriction, river becomes stream as it loses momentum at last (7)

    R for river placed in CURTAILMENT for constriction minus its end (being TAIL) which turns into CURRENT or stream when (momentu)M is lost.

    Well, eveyrthing else has been done already. What about

    I could be at the forefront of affairs (7)

    I op cit, “could be at the forefront of affairs” as in current affairs.

    • I think I’ve got my physics wrong there, haven’t I. The river would speed up in a constriction. What about

      Through endless restriction, river becomes stream as it loses momentum at last (7)

      • Well, ignoring turbulence and fluid friction you are better of on your second!.

        Bigger whorls have little whorls
        That feed on their velocity,
        And little whorls have lesser whorls
        And so on to viscosity.

  29. Brave policemen sent back to secure temporary occupation in … (7)

    … Catholic city previously damaged by split and many charges being circulated(7)

    The first is RUC< (brave policement sent back) + RENT (to secure temporary accommodation) with 'in' as the definition

    The second is C(atholic) + UR (city previously) + RENT (damaged by split) with the def: many charges being circulated

  30. Non-competitive entry as I’ll be ‘chancing my arm’ in Marrakech next week.

    Gushing about Turner’s composition (7)

    Gushing (noun) = definition; C (about) + (TURNER[s])*composition

  31. What’s happening is, confining people indoors leaves few with a prostitue — no hesitation here (7)
    Definition = What’s happening
    CUR(FEW) + RENT(ER)

  32. 3. Cuff’s half t-torn in use (7) CU(-ff) R-RENT

    in use = def

  33. Whether it is about birth or death …

    4. Newsworthy DC happening (7)

    Multiple definition.

  34. I was going to thank the Gnome for his input, but appaently any comment can only have at most two replies, or am I imagining things. Anyway, thankyou for the lucid explanation of why water does not go down my plughole in any particular direction, gnomethang, and for validating both my river clues. WHile I’m here…

    Stick not short pins repeatadly right in (7)

    Stick not short = CUE N’T pinning as in holding fast in a spot or position “repeatedly right” = RR with definition IN (see Anax, May 5 1:09 pm)

  35. Popular crew turn out without women

    Def: Popular

    (cre[w] turn) * out

  36. Right – that’s it folks, no more clues.
    I’ll be back with the judging later tonight, but it’s not going to be for a few hours since I’m running late.

  37. We’ve had a disjointed week so many thanks to everyone who found their way here and submitted clues. I was a bit depressed that all the early clues involved anagrams but that soon righted itself and we ended up with a good selection including a number of very imaginative ones.
    Apologies for any formatting errors in the following – it’s quite difficult without facilities for either previewing or editing.
    My own best effort at a clue for current was:
    Up-to-date kennel fees? (7)
    Finally a plea for future submissions. Do please remember to include as clear an explanation of how your clue works as you can manage. You obviously know how it’s meant to work – after all you composed it – but please take account of the fact that the judge is not able to read your mind.
    So, on with the review (which I’ve split into a number of posts).

    axiom

    Return, playing with child’s first present (7)

    I’m not keen on this for two reasons. Firstly I never like anagrams where the indicator comes between bits of the fodder and secondly “playing” is the wrong part of speech if it’s coming after the fodder – it would have to be “played”.

    Return with child’s first broken present (7)

    This is better. The surface paints a picture of a parent angrily returning to Toys R’Us with the child’s broken toy.

    This account could generate small cash return (7)

    The surface is excellent (and very true) but I can’t allow “small cash” for C as part of the fodder. Also, strictly
    speaking, it’s the anagram that generates the account, not the other way round.

    S.T. Sahasrabudhe

    Dog-torn present (7)

    The wordplay’s fine but the surface isn’t terribly smooth. I think that “Dog has torn …” or “Dog’s torn …” would be better.

    What’s happening now is odd–not keeping promise to let (7)

    A promise is an IOU so to remove IOUS it would have to be in the plural (i.e. promises).

    Tide reversal on Laden’s end stopping terror or outster by unpatriotic extremists (7)

    I’m afraid that I didn’t get as far as checking out the wordplay because I can’t make any sense of the surface (is outster a word?).

    What’s happening is, confining people indoors leaves few with a prostitue — no hesitation here (7)

    I’m sorry – I’ve no idea what the surface is about. I presume that prostitue is meant to be prostitute but how does that lead to renter?

    croque

    Draught? Return drunk after a hundred! (7)

    Draught (a current of air) works as a definition and I presume that in the surface we’re meant to see draught as an alcoholic drink and a hundred to mean a hundred drinks, but the surface is not very smooth.

    Gymbunnies

    New recruit disoriented and lost a contemporary (7)

    I’m happy with N for new in the fodder, but the surface is a bit awkward. “Disoriented and lost” (a past participle followed by a past tense) just doesn’t sound right. I think that “…recruit’s disoriented, having lost ..” would read better.

    Prolixic

    I maybe trendy (7)

    A small cheer is appropriate because we have our first non-anagram. I’ve thought about this for some time, and I can see why Prolixic has written maybe as one word, but I think that it would still work, and would improve the surface, to have it as “may be”.

    Old policemen return to rate course (7)

    Very smooth with the image of old coppers being recalled to the ranks (there must be a TV Series in there somewhere!) to evaluate the training courses being run by today’s young whippersnappers. *** shortlisted ***

    Up-to-date account?

    Current is an example of an account, but can account define current? I don’t think it can.

    Modern tart embraces topless bird (7)

    An amusing down-only clue.

    Old city rector in tender mood (7)

    The wordplay’s fine and “tender mood” is nicely deceptive, but I’m struggling to see how mood can mean current.

    Vagina welcomes cock up, back in!(7)

    Well, it made me laugh but I’m pretty sure that the Times would run a mile from it. If Prolixic managed to smuggle it into one of his Church Times puzzles I imagine that we’d hear the sound of much spluttering over cucumber sandwiches from vicarages throughout the land!

    Popular crew turn out without women

    Prolixic was obviously rushing to get this one in before the deadline and forgot the enumeration. In spite of that it’s a good clue and it’s *** shortlisted ***.

    pepsib

    Latest cure involves radiotherapy initially first of new treatment follows (7)

    This clue was going fine up to and including “initially” (I think that “latest cure” works very well) but then it loses its way a bit. It really needs some sort of punctuation, because it’s effectively two sentences welded into one. Also “first of” doesn’t really suffice when the initial letters of two words are needed. Perhaps something worked round “going by the book” (i.e. the New Testament”) would be easier to fit in.

    Up to the minute hospital department gets remedy with right treatment first, take note

    I think that up-to-the-minute needs hyphens (and the clue needs enumeration). I’m not sure what function “treatment” fulfils in the wordplay if cure comes from remedy. Also, the surface is clunky.

    Trendy movement, AC/DC accepted! (7)

    Pepsib has this as a multiple definition but with no further explanation I don’t really understand it. How does “movement” fit in? Is AC/DC intended to be a definition by example? (in which case it needs a question mark or other indication).

    Shyam

    I incur rental to hold it (7)

    I like this one, with “I” as the well-disguised definition. *** shortlisted ***

    Not out, of course (7)

    I suppose that the first definition is a definition by negation, i.e. something that’s not out is in and course is a second definition, but the “of” seems to stick out.

    One that copper let without resistance (7)

    Shyam submitted this as an &lit and it’s meant (I think) to define (electric) current as something that copper allows to flow because it has a low resistance. However, I don’t think that the whole clue defines that clearly enough.

    Agitatedly run in court to gather about moving charges (7)

    I don’t see “moving charges” as a valid definition for current and the surface reading doesn’t really convey any meaning to me.

    (Back with the next tranche in about half-an-hour).

    • Apologies to Prolixic. I missed his extra post adding the enumeration because I’d already copied out the clue. No matter – it’s shortlisted anyway.

  38. Stevsie

    ‘About turn! About, about, about! Now!”

    I’ll forgive Stevsie for the lack of enumeration (and for starting with a single-quote and ending with a double-quote) because this is a very well worked-out clue and I like it a lot. My only real concern was how “now” could mean current, but the ODE has it as an informal adjective meaning fashionable or up to date, so that’s ok. *** shortlisted ***

    Qix

    I take bearings, in short (7)

    The wordplay’s fine, but the “in short” doesn’t really add to the surface.

    Eddy’s in (7)

    A succinct double definition.

    Trendy fruit, by the sound of it (7)

    Simple and elegant. *** shortlisted ***

    Bishop’s prompt wrapping books for present (7)

    Excellent wordplay but the surface is a mite awkward. I think that “prompt to wrap” instead of “prompt wrapping” would improve the surface but possibly to the detriment of the wordplay.

    Valid dog license (7)

    I’m somewhat confused by this one. License (with an S rather than C) is a verb not a noun (assuming that we’re using British English rather than American English) so I don’t see how the surface is meant to be read.

    dram

    Short skirts on Jordan’s rear getting juice flowing (7)

    LOL time and a splendid clue. I love “juice flowing” as a definition. *** shortlisted ***

    Possibly Madras’ unfinished hospital department is in progress (7)

    The wordplay’s fine but the surface is not the smoothest.

    Brave policemen sent back to secure temporary occupation in … (7)

    … Catholic city previously damaged by split and many charges being circulated (7)

    Dram has presented these as a linked pair of clues. I’m not sure why “brave” appears in the first clue – I’m not disputing the fact that RUC officers were brave, but I don’t see why it needs to be included in the clue or what part it plays. For the second clue I’m not happy with the definition. Electric current results from the flow of electrically charged particles but that’s not the same as
    “charges being circulated”.

    Bhavan

    Charge : Caught demanding to get rid of king for good (7)

    The wordplay is good but I don’t think that charge is synonymous with current. Also, the part of the clue after the colon is presumably meant to be a charge as read out in court in the surface, but in practice I think that this would be worded in more legal terms.

    Con becomes cooperative receiving this? (7)

    Some imaginative thinking has gone into this one and I’d like it to go further but I don’t really think that cooperative means concurrent.

    Cuff’s half t-torn in use (7)

    I’m not a great fan of what I think of as “stuttering” clues (I don’t know if they have a more formal name) but this one works and it’s *** shortlisted ***.

    Newsworthy DC happening (7)

    I’m presuming that DC in the surface stands for Washington and in the wordplay stands for direct current, but I don’t think that DC can be used as a definition without being flagged as an example of current.

    Loonapick

    Hot air (7)

    Excellent double definition. *** shortlisted ***

    Anax

    I(n) (7)

    Imaginative, as always from Anax, but is it a fair way to present a double definition? I’m not sure that it is.

    Kororeka

    In endless constriction, river becomes stream as it loses momentum at last (7)
    Through endless restriction, river becomes stream as it loses momentum at last (7)

    I’m dealing with these both together since I’m not sure if Kororeka meant to withdraw the first one. The wordplay works well, but both clues are a bit clunky.

    I could be at the forefront of affairs (7)

    I like this one – *** shortlisted ***

    Stick not short pins repeatadly right in (7)

    I like the wordplay but the surface is not very smooth.

    cutlp

    Gushing about Turner’s composition (7)

    cutlp withheld this clue from the competition because of his non-availability next week. I’m not convinced that gushing is a reasonable definition for current.

    (Back in 30 minutes with the final placings)

  39. So here’s the shortlist:

    Prolixic(1) : Old policemen return to rate course (7)
    Prolixic(2) : Popular crew turn out without women (7)
    Shyam : I incur rental to hold it (7)
    Stevsie : ‘About turn! About, about, about! Now!”
    Qix : Trendy fruit, by the sound of it (7)
    dram : Short skirts on Jordan’s rear getting juice flowing (7)
    Bhavan : Cuff’s half t-torn in use (7)
    Loonapick : Hot air (7)
    Kororareka : I could be at the forefront of affairs (7)

    I’d be happy with any of the above on the podium but there’s only room for three so here are my choices:

    In third place Stevsie with ‘About turn! About, about, about! Now!”
    A very clever and imaginative clue.

    In second place Loonapick with Hot air (7)
    Very simple – very good.

    In first place dram with Short skirts on Jordan’s rear getting juice flowing (7)
    Superb clue which made me laugh out loud.

    So, congratulations to dram and thanks once more to all who submitted clues.

    On to next week!

  40. Many thanks to Gazza for the comprehensive and lucid judging, and congrats to dram on a deserved win.

  41. Thanks for the learned write-up gazza.

    Congratulations dram, Cyclops would have been proud of that one. You’re a glutton for punishment aren’t you?!

  42. Thanks Gazza for the thorough judging and for the podium spot – it’s really helpful to read through all the feedback. I’ll blame newcomer ignorance for the lack of enumeration, and inattentiveness for the shocking punctuation!

    Congrats Dram, looking forward to next week’s challenge.

  43. Oops – I seem to have overcooked my quest for second place! Many thanks Gazza for your usual very well thought-through analysis and the podium. Next week’s clue will go up at about 9 tomorrow morning.

  44. Thanks Gazza for the education.

    And congrats to the top 3.

  45. Bad luck Dram, just too good this week lol! Thanks Gazza on your usual high standard of judging, by the way ‘movement’ in my clue was meant in the sense of an organisation being modern ‘trendy’ (current) accepting AC/DC, yes? no? ok I agree it didn’t work 🙂 Sorry won’t be taking part next week Dram, always enjoy your judging too, away for the week, enjoy yourself!

    M

Leave a Reply

